Worth seeing!!! Selected attractions of Bóbr Valley.
Bóbr Valley Landscape Park. It is the area of protection of flora and non-forest ecosystems of the park and its buffer zone, almost entirely (98%) located in the basin of the Bóbr River. It aims to protect the historical, cultural and natural values that are attractive for the development of tourism and recreation. Wleń Municipality is the central part of the Bóbr Valley Landscape Park.
Castle Mountain Nature Reserve. It aims to protect valuable species of plants and cultural monuments. Paths around the nature reserve lead among very interesting hornbeam forests. During the journey you can observe protected plants like: Wild Garlic, Turk’s Cap Lily, Goatsbeard, Cotoneaster niger, Berberis, Neottia and Ivy.
Castle Lenno - Wleń. The ruins of a medieval castle towering above Wleń and being the first brick fortress in Poland. Today, only the tower which is a wonderful vantage point with the view over Wleń, Izera and Kaczawskie Mountains and Giant Mountains is preserved in a good shape. The ruins are located at the top of the Castle Mountain, which is a Nature Reserve with precious specimens of fauna and the most famous for wild garlic.
St Hedwig's Church once a castle-town chapel in which the wife of Henry the Bearded, duchess Hedwig, later proclaimed saint (1267), used to pray. Today, a simple historic temple, where services take place. The most precious signs of the century-old past include a polychrome from the sacristy, two sarcophaguses of von Grunfeld family made in sandstone, a beautifully decorated altar, or a grave chapel of knight Hans Heinrich and his wife Marta.
Rehabilitative and Protective Center of Congregation of Sisters of St Elisabeth in Wlen, also known as Wleń Sanatorium. It was established in 1888 as the Water-Healing Institute according to the system created by priest Sebastian Kneipp. Since 1893 it has functioned by the name “Institute of St. Hedwig”. By the end of the century, count Jan Hochberg from Książ Castle founded the Cave of the Virgin Mary. Interestingly, the cave is made from the tuff from Etna volcano. Initially, the Institute had 90 beds but because of the huge interest of patients in 1911 it was extended and in 1920 it was slightly restructured. Between 1939 and 1945 it changed into a military hospital. In 1945, it was evacuated to the west and the Institute was taken over by the Soviet Army. After the recuperation of the devastated hospital from Russians, the Sisters faced new challenges. However, it did not last long. Pursuant to resolution no 166 of the Council of Ministers from March 22nd 1952, the management of PKP in Wrocław took possession of the country Healing Institute, which before that had belonged to the Sisters of St. Elisabeth from Wrocław. Sanatorium PKP worked there for nearly 50 years. The Sisters of St. Elisabeth did not take their possession back until January 11th 1999, when they immediately did a thorough modernization. Since then, they have been working not only for the wider glory of God, but also ill, suffering people and those in need. Despite a turbulent history, the place did not lose its popularity. Thanks to the modern rehabilitative and operating base and professional, high-qualified staff it attracts hundreds of people every year.
Bóbr Valley Railway - "Bobertalbahn" - from Jelenia Góra through Pilchowice, Wleń, Marczów to Lwówek Śląski (...). The construction of the railway took five years. At that time, almost 33 km long part of the railway tracks, three tunnels (187m, 154m and 320m), an over 130 m long truss bridge hanging above the Pilchowice lake and being one of the highest bridges in Poland and a stone four arch viaduct in Pilchowice were created then. Additionally, there were also some smaller viaducts and a few picturesque stations. The journey of the first train took place on the 28th of August, 1909.
Today, the route is considered by many to be one of the most beautiful parts of railway in Poland.
A dam and a lake in Pilchowice. A decision about buliding a dam in Pilchowice was made three years after the great flood from 1897. The dam would enable the creation of a storage reservoir and a hydroelectric power station. Soon, the construction works began. They lasted just eight years and on the 16th of November, 1912, an official opening carried out by emperor Wilhelm II took place. (...)
Today, both the lake and the dam attract big numbers of tourists who want to breathe with fresh air and admire picturesque landscapes in peace and quiet. In the summer, it is possible to rent a kayak, a pedal boat or a yacht, and throughout the whole year tens of anglers dip their fishing rods in the lake.
The Książęca Tower in Siedlęcin.
It is one of the most important medieval monuments in Poland. Without a doubt, it is also the largest and best preserved building of this kind in our country. It is dated by dendrochronology at the beginning of the 14th century (1314). It was founded by Prince Henry I Jaworski. The 14th-century wall paintings presenting the legend about King Arthur’s knight, Sir Lancelot of the Lake, one of the knights of the Round Table (the only such preserved painting in the world) is the most interesting piece of the tower’s equipment.
The Pearl of the West. It was founded in 1927 as a Turmsteinbaude tavern, very popular because of its picturesque location by the Lake Modre and by the part of the Bóbr River and because of the proximity of Jelenia Góra. At the beginning of April 1950, PTTK (The Polish Tourists’ and Country Lovers' Society) shelter, which functioned until the nineties, was established here. Currently, the Pearl of the West hostel which has 26 beds and an exquisite restaurant is located there. Occasional events and weddings are also organized here.
Rocks and mines. The area of the municipality is a very interesting place as regards geology. The rocks form here some interesting exposures. Diabase pillow lavas on the Castle Hill are the most attractive. On the way from the castle to Klecza, the unique separability of columnar basalt can be observed, where the poles with a diameter of 30 cm perpendicular to the surface of the cooling lava arrange themselves into the shape of spruce’s branches. The object is a Monument of Inanimate Nature.
After the medieval gold seekers numerous tunnels in which after World War II uranium was mined remained there. Folwarczna Mountain hides exceptional decks of ribbon agates.
Dam and hydroelectric power plant Wrzeszczyn. It was founded in 1926-27 as one of the objects aimed at reducing flood in the Odra river basin, as well as at the production of electricity. It is equipped with two turbine sets with the Kaplan turbines with a total capacity of 4.2 MW. The bicycle trail ER-6 runs over the weir bridge located on the power plant Wrzeszczyn. The reservoir power station creates the Lake Wrzeszczynskie.
Dams and hydroelectric power plants Bobrowice
Bobrowice I from the year 1925 is equipped with three turbine sets of twin Francis turbines with a total capacity of 2.42 MW. The reservoir power station forms The Lake Modre.
Bobrowice II is a hydroelectric power plant established in 1923. It is equipped with two vertical Francis turbines manufactured by Voith. It is the flow plant.
Bobrowice III was once one of the two power plants belonging to the pre-war paper factory. During World War II plants were destroyed and only in the years 1953 to 1954 one of them was rebuilt. Bobrowice III are equipped with Francis turbines manufactured by Goth and asynchronous generator from the factory M-1 Poland, dated to the 1953. It is located on the route between Kosciuszko Hill (Grzybek) and The Pearl of the West.
Bobrowice IV was formed in 2008 and is adjacent to the power station Bobrowice III. It is equipped with two turbine sets constructed on the model of Kaplan turbines with a capacity of 0.5 MW.
Chateau Kleppelsdorf in Wleń was a luxurious mansion of the Zedlitz family for many centuries. Today, the Palace is a place of relaxation and reflection – surrounded by a charming park in which old trees welcome guests tired of work. The place is a calming shelter from the uproar of the world.
Day by day the Palace is regaining its magnificence due to the unusual passion and commitment of the investors, artists and craftsmen. Therefore, Chateau Kleppelsdorf welcomes its guests with beautifully renovated chambers. As our guests have various characters, each room has been designed in a different style. Our guests have the fireplace hall and the newly renovated arbor at their disposal.
The Palace offers 11 chambers which can accommodate 40 people. Every chamber is equipped with antique furniture to which elegant decorations are matched. Paintings, sculptures and props remind of the development of the arts which had always been valued by the gentry. Ancestral armorials of former owners and historical albums available in the Palace help our guests to understand the intricacy of our rich history. The interiors prepared in such a way and the atmosphere in the Palace let our guests immerse themselves in the comfort of the past ages and to spend relaxing moments in a superior manner.
Chateau Kleppelsdorf is a perfect choice for vacation in Poland in an amazing palatial atmosphere.
więcej na www.palacwlen.pl
St. Nicolas Church, in its present shape was built in the second half of the 19th century, largely thanks to a great commitment of Joseph Tilgner who was the parish priest then. The church was built on ruins of the old one, destroyed in war, which set fire to the building. The steeple is the only thing that survived the fire. In the humble interiors of the church there are: a stony baptistery from the 16th century, oil pictures, polychromies and stained-glass windows which deserve special attention. The interesting fact is that in the steeple and in the attic of the church lives one of the biggest settlements of myotis myotis bats in Poland. A few years ago there were more than 1300 of these animals. Alongside myotis myotis, the attic is settled by a smaller colony of Barbastelle Bat. The church is surrounded by a cemetery, around which, in a stony wall, stony epitaphs and grave plaques are located. Next to it, there is a presbytery building and outhouse buildings, also surrounded by a stony wall. The statue of St. John of Nepomuk stands at the entrance. In the western part of the yard, one can see a penitential cross with an engraved sword. The second witness of the bloody past is a cross of reconciliation located next to the road, currently a green trial, leading to the castle. It is so unique because it holds engravings of two tools: dagger and axe.
Town Hall. The first mention of the building, which is the headquarters of the local government, comes from the beginning of the 14th century. During the battles of Napoleonic and Russian Armies on 16th to 18th August 1813 the town hall was ruined. In its place, in 1823-1824 a new building was built, which has served its function till today. It is a modest, one-storied building topped with a ridged roof and brow bands, where a wooden tower is placed. Inside it there is a clockwork made by one descendant of the Wleń’s J.G. Bucker’s school for watchmakers in 1801. The clock is still working – of course it needs winding! Above the entrance to the town hall there is a Latin maxim:
"EX CINERE PHONIX - POST NUBILA PHEBUS 1813 - 1824"
"THE SUN COMES AFTER THE RAIN – THE PHOENIX RAISES FROM THE ASHES 1813 - 1824".
Pigeon Fancier Monument. The monument of Pigeon Fancier placed in Wleń’s main square is the most recognizable symbol of the city. It was built on the occasion of the 700th anniversary of the founding of the town in 1914. It refers to the tradition – a legend of saving the town and pigeon fair which has been taking place here since 15th century. The monument was made from sandstone and it shows a girl, feeding the pigeons. She is standing on the three-sided pedestal. On its front, there is an emblem of the city and dates: 1214-1914. The pedestal is also a fountain.
St. Jacob and Catherine of Alexandria Church in Radomice – built in 15th century, later rebuilt and reconstructed several times. Inside the building, there is a gothic triptych of Madonna with her child and patrons. There are tombstones in the floor and stones epitaphs on the walls. This sanctuary is very often chosen not only by local newlyweds, because supposedly it brings luck.
Church of Our Lady of Laudres in Bystrzyca – in 1520, an Evangelical parish was created here. Initially, sermons were given in the manor house. The first house of prayer was given to the public in 1742. Unfortunately, it needed immediate reconstruction, which was completed in 1772. For two and a half centuries, the sanctuary was modernized several times. After the war in 1959, it was abandoned by Evangelicals and was taken over by the Catholic Church. Nowadays, in the sanctuary's modest interior, Sunday Masses are held. In recent years, the 17th century's stone epitaphs were moved from an old, unkempt catholic cemetery to the church. In front of the church there has been an open bell tower from 1843.
Manor house of von Braun in Bystrzyca – currently a residential house which has an emblem over its entrance with a date, 1646. Wernher von Braun, the leading rocket designer and pioneer of space conquests, co-author of balistic missle V-2, pilot, German officer in American space programme NASA director and an adviser to the president of the USA. He was practicing flying on nearby Szybowcowa Mountain.
Yew – an almost 800 year old natural monument, with 382 cm in circuit. It is located in Bystrzyca on the area of a currently non-existent Catholic church and cemetery. According to a legend, the yew was planted by inhabitants after building this church in honor of its founder duchess Hedwig, recognized later as a saint.
CAUTION: POISONOUS PLANT.
Ostrzyca – the Silesian Fuji Yama. It is located at the height of 500.9 m above the sea level. A basalt cone created after the lava's outflow is 76 m height. Over 400 steps lead to the peak. There is a wide view from the top. In January 31st 1962, it became a reserve again, mainly for conservation of the tertiary volcano relic with unique in Poland basalt's stone run and protection of rock vegetation.
Penitential crosses. They were erected by the killers usually at the site of the crime. Crosses were one of the elements of compensation and reconciliation with the victim's family. They were aimed to make people reflect and pray for the soul of both the murdered and the murderer.
|Wleń||Wleń - Zamek||Nielestno||Nielestno- Strzyżowiec|
|Klecza - Radomice||Strzyżowiec - Jel.Góra||Strzyżowiec- Czernica||Modrzewie - Czernica|
Monuments in Honor of the Fallen. During World War I the German army lost more than two million soldiers. From each village at least a couple of people were killed and for them, in almost every village, there were monuments erected.
After 1945, the Germans who lived here were expelled. German monuments were associated by many newly arrived residents with the enemies and probably this was the reason of destroying them. Some of them were “domesticated” to change their destiny. Others, for decades, have been being marked by the passage of time. Only a few have survived undamaged.
Street Memorial of Michał Fluder A great festival of running. On Sundays in May, perennial enthusiasts of running and those who want to try it for the first time meet in the main square of Wleń, including adults, teenagers, and children. The youngest participants start the day just before noon Integration Run OPEN begins. The Main event, a 10km run, for dependent and independent, as well as disabled people, starts at noon at the main square and goes through streets around the town (Polish Athletics Association certificate).